Men of Style: Tom Ford Interview

tom ford, designer tom ford,

Photo: Simon Perry

A while back I featured a Tom Ford Interview with AnOther  Magazine (here) and the now the fine folks over at the Bergdorf Goodman blog 5th/85th sat down to the reigning King of Fashion (here).

Tom touches on all sorts of subjects like how he was born a fifty-year-old man:

LISA: This is a big year for you. Right? Because of a birthday coming up.

TF: You mean because I’m turning fifty? I don’t think of it as a big year at all. I was born fifty. When I was five years old, I wanted to be fifty. I knew exactly what I was going to look like, exactly what I was going to be doing…

Tom also talks about his dislike for spontaneity and his love for planning:

LISA: When was the last time you had a spontaneous moment?

TF: Well, I’m not good with spontaneous. Even if I had the time, I would probably have a little schedule. And I’m not good with surprises. I went through a phase of thinking maybe I should become good with spontaneous, and then I thought, Why? If it makes me uncomfortable, why should I?

If you didn’t love Tom Ford already, he also talks about how he shops are Bed Bath & Beyond:

LISA: And you still go to Bed Bath & Beyond, and you probably never thought that you were going to keep doing that.

TF: I go online to Bed Bath & Beyond, and of course, I had no concept of online when I was a kid.

Tom also takes a little time to touch on his strenuous beauty regimen:

LISA: But you do facials. You do masks.

TF: I don’t know what you’re talking about. I just get out of bed and look the same every day.

Tom Ford discusses all sorts of other topics, including what happens when he tries to go out in public (think Eiffel Tower) and how he will tell you straight up what you need to do to look better; Tom really is Bold & Beautiful. This interview only furthered my love and respect for this Fashion genius and I recommend reading the whole interview. Be sure to check out the whole interview here at the Bergdorf Goodman blog.

Leave a Reply

